2 N. Central Avenue, 18th Floor, Suite 1929,
Phoenix, AZ 85004

How Is The Ignition Interlock Device Used In Arizona?

There would be a few different times when this would be required. Anyone convicted of an alcohol DUI would be required to have an ignition interlock device, although it would be possible to not have to have an ignition interlock device if the case dealt with a DUI drug or a DUI medication case.

The down side is that the person would then have their license revoked for one year with no ability to get any sort of restricted license. The ignition interlock device would not be a given, but there would be a way of doing it which is something that some attorneys do not understand how to do.

The downside of a drug or medication DUI is that the person would get the one year license revocation, although the upside is that it would be possible to prevent the ignition interlock device.

Any type of misdemeanor alcohol DUI, would have a requirement for an ignition interlock device for anywhere from six months up to two years, although there would always be the potential for more if the person reoffended while they had the ignition interlock device. It would be possible to get six month extensions.

Someone who had been convicted of an aggravated DUI, which is a class four or class six felony, would be required to have an ignition interlock device on any vehicle they operated for at least two years.

The only other time someone would be required to have an ignition interlock device is not so much of a requirement, but it is actually a possible benefit if they wanted to have the ability to drive.

If the person was suspected of DUI, but refused the blood, breath, and/or urine test that was requested of them, then they would end up with a one year license suspension for refusing, and if that was upheld after a hearing or if the person did not have a hearing, then after doing the first 90 days of not driving at all, the person would be eligible to get a restricted license which would require an ignition interlock device.

In this case, the time the ignition interlock device would be on the vehicle for up to nine months to have the restricted license, would not count towards any other ignition interlock device requirement that may come because the person was convicted of a DUI.

So those are the only times when an ignition interlock device would be required or can be a part of some sort of ability to continue driving.

The Cost Of The Ignition Interlock Device

There are a lot of private facilities in Arizona that do ignition interlock device installations, so it is fairly competitive. It would generally cost about $100 a month.

The Ignition Interlock Device Can Sometimes Be Removed Early

The only possibility of having the device removed early would be on a first time regular alcohol DUI. Someone who was convicted of a first time regular alcohol DUI would be required to have an ignition interlock device for one year, although they would be able to have it removed after six months if they did the first six months correctly.

Doing the first six months correctly means blowing into the device every time, and then not testing positive for alcohol more than twice, and not testing above a .08 even once. If the person was successful in doing that, then the Motor Vehicle Division would send them a letter telling them they could remove the ignition interlock device early because they successfully completed the first six months.

For more information on Ignition Interlock Device, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you’re seeking by calling 480-900-0384 today.

Get your questions answered - Call Me to schedule your One Hour Free 'In Depth' Consultation 480-900-0384, 602-900-0384, 623-900-0384