Given below is a list of some of the key highway safety laws in the state of Arizona.
Reckless and Aggressive Driving is defined under A.R.S. §28-693 and A.R.S. §28-695
Aggressive driving includes speeding and at least two of the following:
- failure to obey traffic control device
- passing on the right out of regular lanes of traffic
- unsafe lane change
- following too closely
- failure to yield right of way
Any such acts will be considered aggressive driving if they cause immediate hazard to another person or vehicle.
Cell Phones and Texting
In Arizona, there is a ban on all hand-held devices, including cell phones, for school bus drivers.
Child Passenger Safety
Unless otherwise stated, child restraint is required for children less than 4 years or less than 57 lbs. Adults are required to use a safety belt. Failure to do so will result in a $50 fine for a 1st offense.
Arizona has Zero Tolerance Per Se Laws for some drugs. Anyone found driving under the influence of drugs will face a DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs) charge.
Possession and use of marijuana is legal as long as it is for medical use. However, Arizona impaired driving laws have Zero tolerance for THC and any of its metabolites in the system while driving.
Anyone driving with a BAC of 0.08% or more will be charged with a DUI in Arizona. High BAC levels of 0.15% or more carry increased penalties.
The drivers license is suspended for 90 days on a 1st offense DUI, and limited driving privileges are available after 30 days during suspension.
Under Arizona DUI laws, installation of Ignition Interlocks is mandatory for all convictions. The offenders vehicle is immobilized or impounded.
Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)
Minimum age for Graduated Driver Licensing Learner Stage is 15 years and 6 months. Learner stage has a minimum duration of 6 months with required supervised driving of 30 hours during the day and 10 hours at night.
Minimum age for Graduated Driver Licensing Intermediate Stage is 16 years. There is a nighttime driving restriction for these drivers from midnight to 5 am. The Intermediate Stage also carries a passenger restriction in the first 6 months.
Full privilege is achieved under GDL at a minimum age of 16 years and 6 months.
Motorcyclists under the age of 18 years are required to wear a helmet or safety gear in Arizona.
Length of regular License renewal cycle in Arizona is 65 years. For those above 65 years, renewal is every 5 years. Mail renewal requires passage of vision exam within the last 3 months. There is no mail renewal for drivers over the age of 70 years.
Passengers between the ages 8 to 15 years are required to use seat belts whether they are sitting in the front seat or at the back.
For more information on highway safety and traffic laws in Arizona, contact the Law Offices of Brian D. Sloan at 480-900-0384 for a Free Initial Consultation.