2 N. Central Avenue, 18th Floor, Suite 1929,
Phoenix, AZ 85004

DUI Laws for Truck Drivers / Commercial Drivers in Arizona

When a commercial driver is charged with a DUI in Arizona, their Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) is suspended or disqualified by the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). The driver will then be required to meet the suspension requirements to have their license reinstated.

Whether the violation was committed in a commercial vehicle or in a non-commercial vehicle at the time of arrest, the CDL of the driver may be disqualified. These violations include the following:

  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Using the vehicle to commit a felony
  • Refusing to take a chemical test to determine BAC

The suspension of a CDL can create many complications for the driver as CDL holders depend on their license for a living.

BAC Laws That Affect CDL

The following laws in Arizona affect CDL holders in Arizona:

  • When a driver is stopped while operating a vehicle with a BAC over 0.08%, they can be arrested. Both their personal driver’s license and CDL can be suspended for different lengths of time.
  • When a driver is found operating a commercial vehicle with a BAC over 0.04%, their CDL will be suspended.

Therefore, it is important for CDL holders to be aware of the fact that their actions can have an impact on both their licenses, and affect their livelihood.

Effects on the Licenses and Other Penalties

If you hold a CDL and are convicted of a DUI in Arizona, your licenses will be suspended anywhere between 30 days to a year. Some cases may qualify for a conditional license. For repeat offenders, their licenses will both be suspended for at least a year.

Apart from license suspensions, the offender may also face large fines, jail time, probation, and more. The penalties of a DUI on a CDL in Arizona are given below:

BAC between 0.04% – 0.15%

A first offense with BAC between 0.04% and 0.15% while driving a commercial vehicle in Arizona, will result in the following penalties:

  • Minimum of 10 days in jail
  • At least $1,250 in fine

A subsequent offense with BAC between 0.04% and 0.15% will result in:

  • Minimum of 90 days in jail
  • At least $3,000 in fine
  • License revocation for 12 months

BAC between 0.15% or more

A first offense with BAC over 0.15% while driving a commercial vehicle in Arizona, will result in the following penalties:

  • Minimum of 30 days in jail
  • At least $2,500 in fine

Any subsequent offenses with BAC over 0.15% will result in:

  • Minimum of 120 days in jail
  • At least $3,250 in fine
  • License revocation for 12 months

Refusing to take the alcohol test will result in the suspension of the CDL for 12 months. Depending on any prior offenses, the duration of the suspension can increase to 24 months for refusing to take the chemical test.

PLEASE NOTE

Multiple convictions as a result of DUI offenses or alcohol test refusals will revoke your CDL for life.

Therefore, it is extremely important to have your Arizona CDL reinstated. Contact the Law Offices of Brian D. Sloan at 480-900-0384 for a Free Initial Consultation have your CDL reinstated.

Get your questions answered - Call Me to schedule your One Hour Free 'In Depth' Consultation 480-900-0384, 602-900-0384, 623-900-0384